Historic Macon Accepting Nominations For 2017 Preservation Awards

Historic Macon Foundation has given awards since its creation in 2003 by the merger of the Middle Georgia Historical Society and Macon Heritage Foundation. The purpose of the annual Preservation Awards is to recognize preservation efforts in Middle Georgia. Awards will be presented at the 2017 Historic Macon annual meeting on Tuesday, May 2, 2017. Deadline for nominations is Tuesday, February 28, 2017.


Awards should be reserved for projects that will lead to a greater awareness about historic preservation, will encourage preservation efforts that save and revitalize historic properties, neighborhoods or landmarks, or make such a significant improvement in the community. Projects do not have to be complete at the time of nomination, but must be completed prior to May 2.


There are four categories:

1. Preservation, Rehabilitation or Restoration of a Residential Building

2. Preservation, Rehabilitation or Restoration of a Commercial or Institutional Building

3. Revitalization Project

4. Stewardship Project


The public should nominate projects at


Nomination Categories and Descriptions:

1. Preservation, Rehabilitation or Restoration of a Residential Building

This category awards single-family, residential projects that are treated according to the National Park Service’s definitions of preservation, rehabilitation, or restoration, defined as follows:


“Preservation, places a high premium on the retention of all historic fabric through conservation, maintenance and repair. It reflects a building’s continuum over time, through successive occupancies, and the respectful changes and alterations that are made.


Rehabilitation…emphasizes the retention and repair of historic materials, but more latitude is provided for replacement because it is assumed the property is more deteriorated prior to work. (Both Preservation and Rehabilitation standards focus attention on the preservation of those materials, features, finishes, spaces, and spatial relationships that, together, give a property its historic character.)


Restoration … focuses on the retention of materials from the most significant time in a property’s history, while permitting the removal of materials from other periods.”


2. Preservation, Rehabilitation or Restoration in Commercial or Institutional Building

Projects falling into one of the categories defined above, but used for commercial, municipal or institutional purposes (including multi-family rental) may be considered in this category.


3. Revitalization Project

Projects may be recommended for the revitalization category if the work does not qualify as appropriate preservation, rehabilitation or restoration, but still merits an award. Such projects may not adhere strictly to preservation theory, but make an exceptional contribution to the community, or are pioneering investments in historic districts in desperate need of revitalization. The revitalization category is the only category in which new construction (infill) projects may be considered. Projects in this category may be residential, commercial, municipal or institutional use or ownership, and may include landscapes or buildings.


4. Stewardship Project

Often, the best preservation is consistent maintenance, and constant attention and care paid by a loving owner of a historic property. The stewardship award honors owners or families that ensure their buildings stay in excellent condition over a period of decades. Projects in this category may be residential, commercial, municipal or institutional use or ownership, and may include landscapes or buildings.



About Historic Macon Foundation

Founded in 1964, Historic Macon Foundation is a nonprofit organization that revitalizes Macon by preserving architecture and sharing history. For over 50 years, Historic Macon has been engaged in community revitalization efforts and has led the nation in innovative tactics for historic preservation. For more information or to become a member, visit or call 478-742-5084.


posted 05/01/2017 in Community, Events


No comments have been posted.

HTML not allowed, max characters 255, * denotes required field.